vars

学习vars服务。

bvar是多线程环境下的计数器类库,方便记录和查看用户程序中的各类数值,它利用了thread local存储减少了cache bouncing,相比UbMonitor(百度内的老计数器库)几乎不会给程序增加性能开销,也快于竞争频繁的原子操作。brpc集成了bvar,/vars可查看所有曝光的bvar,/vars/VARNAME可查阅某个bvar,增加计数器的方法请查看bvar。brpc大量使用了bvar提供统计数值,当你需要在多线程环境中计数并展现时,应该第一时间想到bvar。但bvar不能代替所有的计数器,它的本质是把写时的竞争转移到了读:读得合并所有写过的线程中的数据,而不可避免地变慢了。当你读写都很频繁或得基于最新值做一些逻辑判断时,你不应该用bvar。

查询方法

/vars : 列出所有曝光的bvar

/vars/NAME:查询名字为NAME的bvar

/vars/NAME1,NAME2,NAME3:查询名字为NAME1或NAME2或NAME3的bvar

/vars/foo*,b$r:查询名字与某一统配符匹配的bvar,注意用$代替?匹配单个字符,因为?是URL的保留字符。

以下动画演示了如何使用过滤功能。你可以把包含过滤表达式的url复制粘贴给他人,他们点开后将看到相同的计数器条目。(数值可能随运行变化)

img

/vars左上角有一个搜索框能加快寻找特定bvar的速度,在这个搜索框你只需键入bvar名称的一部分,框架将补上*进行模糊查找。不同的名称间可以逗号、分号或空格分隔。

img

你也可以在命令行中访问vars:

$ curl brpc.baidu.com:8765/vars/bthread*
bthread_creation_count : 125134
bthread_creation_latency : 3
bthread_creation_latency_50 : 3
bthread_creation_latency_90 : 5
bthread_creation_latency_99 : 7
bthread_creation_latency_999 : 12
bthread_creation_latency_9999 : 12
bthread_creation_latency_cdf : "click to view"
bthread_creation_latency_percentiles : "[3,5,7,12]"
bthread_creation_max_latency : 7
bthread_creation_qps : 100
bthread_group_status : "0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 "
bthread_num_workers : 24
bthread_worker_usage : 1.01056

查看历史趋势

点击大部分数值型的bvar会显示其历史趋势。每个可点击的bvar记录了过去60秒,60分钟,24小时,30天总计174个值。当有1000个可点击bvar时大约会占1M内存。

img

统计和查看分位值

x%分位值(percentile)是指把一段时间内的N个统计值排序,排在第N * x%位的值。比如一段时间内有1000个值,先从小到大排序,排在第500位(1000 * 50%)的值是50%分位值(即中位数),排在第990位的是99%分位值(1000 * 99%),排在第999位的是99.9%分位值。分位值能比平均值更准确的刻画数值的分布,对理解系统行为有重要意义。工业级应用的SLA一般在99.97%以上(此为百度对二级系统的要求,一级是99.99%以上),一些系统即使平均值不错,但不佳的长尾区域也会明显拉低和打破SLA。分位值能帮助分析长尾区域。

分位值可以绘制为CDF曲线和按时间变化的曲线。

下图是分位值的CDF,横轴是比例(排序位置/总数),纵轴是对应的分位值。比如横轴=50%处对应的纵轴值便是50%分位值。如果系统要求的性能指标是"99.9%的请求在xx毫秒内完成“,那么你就得看下99.9%那儿的值。

img

为什么叫它CDF? 当选定一个纵轴值y时,对应横轴的含义是"数值 <= y的比例”,由于数值一般来自随机采样,横轴也可以理解为“数值 <= y的概率”,或P(数值 <= y),这就是CDF的定义。

CDF的导数是概率密度函数。如果把CDF的纵轴分为很多小段,对每个小段计算两端对应的横轴值之差,并把这个差作为新的横轴,那么我们便绘制了PDF曲线,就像顺时针旋转了90度的正态分布那样。但中位数的密度往往很高,在PDF中很醒目,这使得边上的长尾很扁而不易查看,所以大部分系统测量结果选择CDF曲线而不是PDF曲线。

可用一些简单规则衡量CDF曲线好坏:

  • 越平越好。一条水平线是最理想的,这意味着所有的数值都相等,没有任何等待,拥塞,停顿。当然这是不可能的。
  • 99%和100%间的面积越小越好:99%之后是长尾的聚集地,对大部分系统的SLA有重要影响。

一条缓慢上升且长尾区域面积不大的CDF便是不错的曲线。

下图是按分位值按时间变化的曲线,包含了4条曲线,横轴是时间,纵轴从上到下分别对应99.9%,99%,90%,50%分位值。颜色从上到下也越来越浅(从橘红到土黄)。

img

滑动鼠标可以阅读对应数据点的值,上图中显示的是”39秒种前的99%分位值是330微秒”。这幅图中不包含99.99%的曲线,因为99.99%分位值常明显大于99.9%及以下的分位值,画在一起的话会使得其他曲线变得很”矮“,难以辨认。你可以点击以"_latency_9999"结尾的bvar独立查看99.99%曲线。按时间变化曲线可以看到分位值的变化趋势,对分析系统的性能变化很实用。

brpc的服务都会自动统计延时分布,用户不用自己加了。如下图所示:

img

你可以用bvar::LatencyRecorder统计任何代码的延时,这么做(更具体的使用方法请查看bvar-c++):

#include <bvar/bvar.h>

...
bvar::LatencyRecorder g_latency_recorder("client");  // expose this recorder
... 
void foo() {
    ...
    g_latency_recorder << my_latency;
    ...
}

如果这个程序使用了brpc server,那么你应该已经可以在/vars看到client_latency, client_latency_cdf等变量,点击便可查看动态曲线。如下图所示:

img

非brpc server

如果你的程序只是一个brpc client或根本没有使用brpc,并且你也想看到动态曲线,看这里


修改于 2022年9月26日: Update _index.md (#96) (41e6dd6)

vars

Learn about vars service.

bvar is a set of counters to record and view miscellaneous statistics conveniently in multi-threaded applications. The implementation reduces cache bouncing by storing data in thread local storage(TLS), being much faster than UbMonitor(a legacy counting library inside Baidu) and even atomic operations in highly contended scenarios. brpc integrates bvar by default, namely all exposed bvars in a server are accessible through /vars, and a single bvar is addressable by /vars/VARNAME. Read bvar to know how to add bvars for your program. brpc extensively use bvar to expose internal status. If you are looking for an utility to collect and display metrics of your application, consider bvar in the first place. bvar definitely can’t replace all counters, essentially it moves contentions occurred during write to read: which needs to combine all data written by all threads and becomes much slower than an ordinary read. If read and write on the counter are both frequent or decisions need to be made based on latest values, you should not use bvar.

Query methods

/vars : List all exposed bvars

/vars/NAME:List the bvar whose name is NAME

/vars/NAME1,NAME2,NAME3:List bvars whose names are either NAME1, NAME2 or NAME3.

/vars/foo*,b$r: List bvars whose names match given wildcard patterns. Note that $ matches a single character instead of ? which is a reserved character in URL.

Following animation shows how to find bvars with wildcard patterns. You can copy and paste the URL to others who will see same bvars that you see. (values may change)

img

There’s a search box in the upper-left corner on /vars page, in which you can type part of the names to locate bvars. Different patterns are separated by , : or space.

img

/vars is accessible from terminal as well:

$ curl brpc.baidu.com:8765/vars/bthread*
bthread_creation_count : 125134
bthread_creation_latency : 3
bthread_creation_latency_50 : 3
bthread_creation_latency_90 : 5
bthread_creation_latency_99 : 7
bthread_creation_latency_999 : 12
bthread_creation_latency_9999 : 12
bthread_creation_latency_cdf : "click to view"
bthread_creation_latency_percentiles : "[3,5,7,12]"
bthread_creation_max_latency : 7
bthread_creation_qps : 100
bthread_group_status : "0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 "
bthread_num_workers : 24
bthread_worker_usage : 1.01056

Clicking on most of the numerical bvars shows historical trends. Each clickable bvar records values in recent 60 seconds, 60 minutes, 24 hours and 30 days, which are 174 numbers in total. 1000 clickable bvars take roughly 1M memory.

img

Calculate and view percentiles

x-ile (short for x-th percentile) is the value ranked at N * x%-th position amongst a group of ordered values. E.g. If there’re 1000 values inside a time window, sort them in ascending order first. The 500-th value(1000 * 50%) in the ordered list is 50-ile(a.k.a median), the 990-th(1000 * 99%) value is 99-ile, the 999-th value is 99.9-ile. Percentiles give more information on how latencies distribute than mean values, and being helpful for analyzing behavior of the system more accurately. Industrial-grade services often require SLA to be not less than 99.97% (the requirement for 2nd-level services inside Baidu, >=99.99% for 1st-level services), even if a system has good average latencies, a bad long-tail area may still break SLA. Percentiles do help analyzing the long-tail area.

Percentiles can be plotted as a CDF or percentiles-over-time curve.

Following diagram plots percentiles as CDF, where the X-axis is the ratio(ranked-position/total-number) and the Y-axis is the corresponding percentile. E.g. The Y value corresponding to X=50% is 50-ile. If a system requires that “99.9% requests need to be processed within Y milliseconds”, you should check the Y at 99.9%.

img

Why do we call it CDF ? When a Y=y is chosen, the corresponding X means “percentage of values <= y”. Since values are sampled randomly (and uniformly), the X can be viewed as “probability of values <= y”, or P(values <= y), which is just the definition of CDF.

Derivative of the CDF is PDF. If we divide the Y-axis of the CDF into many small-range segments, calculate the difference between X values of both ends of each segment, and use the difference as new value for X-axis, a PDF curve would be plotted, just like a normal distribution rotated 90 degrees clockwise. However density of the median is often much higher than others in a PDF and probably make long-tail area very flat and hard to read. As a result, systems prefer showing distributions in CDF rather than PDF.

Here’re 2 simple rules to check if a CDF curve is good or not:

  • The flatter the better. A horizontal line is an ideal CDF curve which means that there’re no waitings, congestions or pauses, very unlikely in practice.
  • The area between 99% and 100% should be as small as possible: right-side of 99% is the long-tail area, which has a significant impact on SLA.

A CDF with slowly ascending curve and small long-tail area is great in practice.

Following diagram plots percentiles over time and has four curves. The X-axis is time and Y-axis from top to bottom are 99.9% 99% 90% 50% percentiles respectively, plotted in lighter and lighter colors (from orange to yellow).

img

Hovering mouse over the curves shows corresponding values at the time. The tooltip in above diagram means “The 99% percentile of latency before 39 seconds is 330 microseconds”. The diagram does not include the 99.99-ile curve which is usually significantly higher than others, making others hard to read. You may click bvars ended with “_latency_9999” to read the 99.99-ile curve separately. This diagram shows how percentiles change over time, which is helpful to analyze performance regressions of systems.

brpc calculates latency distributions of services automatically, which do not need users to add manually. The metrics are as follows:

img

bvar::LatencyRecorder is able to calculate latency distributions of any code, as depicted below. (checkout bvar-c++ for details):

#include <bvar/bvar.h>

...
bvar::LatencyRecorder g_latency_recorder("client");  // expose this recorder
... 
void foo() {
    ...
    g_latency_recorder << my_latency;
    ...
}

If the application already starts a brpc server, values like client_latency, client_latency_cdf can be viewed from /vars as follows. Clicking them to see (dynamically-updated) curves:

img

Non brpc server

If your program only uses brpc client or even not use brpc, and you also want to view the curves, check here.


Last modified November 15, 2022: Update index.md (5373e25)